About the Colorado Brewers Guild

CBGThe Colorado Brewers Guild (CBG) is a non-profit trade association who promotes and protects the Colorado craft brewing industry. With the majority of the 300 licensed Colorado breweries as members, CBG provides information for Colorado beer lovers, and promotes Colorado craft breweries by advocating for Colorado craft beer with policymakers.

 

 

Colorado Brewers Guild Staff

Steve Kurowski                   Operations Director                                            manager@coloradobeer.org
Shawnee Adelson              Membership Coordinator                               membership@coloradobeer.org

Colorado Brewers Guild Board Of Directors 2017

Eric Wallace – Chair Left Hand Brewing eric@lefthandbrewing.com
Chris Wright- Vice Chair Pikes Peak Brewing chris@pikespeakbrewing.com
Brad Lincoln – Treasurer Funkwerks brad@funkwerks.com
Matt Cutter – Secretary Upslope Brewing matt@upslopebrewing.com
Brian O’Connell Renegade Brewing Brian@renegadebrewing.com
Kim Jordan New Belgium Brewing KJordan@newbelgium.com
Tim Meyers Strange Craft Brewing tim@strangecraft.com
Tony Simmons Pagosa Brewing and Grill tony@pagosabrewing.com
Kristen Muraro Ska Brewing kristen@skabrewing.com
Wynne Odell Odell Brewing wynne@odellbrewing.com

 

 

1859

Denver - the first brewery in the territory was founded near Cherry Creek. The Rocky Mountain Brewing Company would begin the tradition of what would become Colorado, the state of craft beer. Serving thirsty miners and pioneers seeking their fortune, a Colorado legacy, local beer for local people, was born.

1875

The year before Colorado became a state is important as it represented the high water mark of Colorado brewing before prohibition. Said another way, there were 56 breweries operating, the most at any time before prohibition.

1876

Colorado becomes the 38th state in the Union. The Centennial state is born and has 36 breweries operating producing flavorful ale and lager.

1912

Denver - The state legislature votes to begin prohibition in 1916. There was a failed attempt to exclude beer from the law. Twelve breweries were operating knowing that the end was coming.

1916

Colorado enters prohibition and goes dry.

1934

With the repeal of prohibition, five Colorado breweries emerge to begin brewing once again.

1979

Colorado doubles the number of operating breweries from one to two. Boulder Beer and is issued the 43rd brewing license in the country. The beginning of a flavor revolution takes place.

1982

Boulder - The first Great American Beer Festival takes place at the HarvestHouse hotel.

1988

Denver & Durango - Colorado gets it first two brewpubs, Wynkoop Brewing and Carver Brewing. These two restaurants begin brewing and serving beer produced on the premise to beer lovers seeking flavor and diversity. There are now four breweries in the state.

1995

Boulder - the Colorado Brewers Guild is founded to promote and protect Colorado craft beer. There are 56 breweries operating in the state, the most since 1875.

1996

Denver - House Bill 1168 becomes law creating the Colorado brew pub license. There are 83 breweries operating in the state.

2006

Colorado sets a new record with 108 breweries operating across the state.

2015

The industry continues to expand with 300 licensed brewers located across the state. From the very large to the very small brewery, Colorado, the state of craft beer continues to evolve.

Lost Password?